Wall commemorating the history of Wilmington City Council to be formally dedicated

WILMINGTON – Wilmington City Council Member Zanthia Oliver will be joined by Council President Hanifa Shabazz and former Council President Theodore Blunt as they formally dedicate the Wilmington City Council Commemorative Wall.

The Commemorative Wall is a collection of photographs of various Council sessions, a historical look of past and present members of Wilmington City Council and a historical synopsis of significant changes and additions in the formation of today’s Council that culminated with the election of the body’s first female president in 2016.

“The Commemorative Wall concept was the vision of former Council President Theodore Blunt,”said Oliver, “We are extending an invitation to former Wilmington City Council presidents and members and their families to join us in the dedication. Mayor Mike Purzycki and former mayors will also be on hand. An invitation is also extended to the public.”

The official documentation was researched and published by Donn Devine in his book entitled, “Leaders of Wilmington, Principal Officers of the City of Wilmington, Delaware from 1832 – 2007.”

The event is scheduled for Thursday, November 15, 2018, from 4:00 p.m. to 5:45 p.m. in the lobby of the Louis L. Redding City County Building at 800 N. French Street.

Please contact the City Council office at 576-2140 by November 13, 2018 to R.S.V.P.

Commemorative City Council Wall Dedication

Wilmington City Council Commemorative Wall Dedication Thursday, November 15, 20184:00 pm to 5:45 pmLocated on the 1st Floor in the Lobby of the Louis L Redding City Council Building in theCity of Wilmington, DelawareFor all current council members, President Hanifa Shabazz, City Councilwoman Zanthia Oliver, Michelle Harlee, Nnamdi Chukwuocha, Trippi Congo, Vash Turner, Yolanda Carter McCoy, Bob Williams, Bud Freel, Ciro Adams – Wilmington City Council, Rysheema Dixon, Samuel Guy and Loretta Walsh for WilmingtonThis is an invite to all City Residents, Former Presidents James M. Baker, Ted Blunt, Norman Griffiths, Theopalis Kenneth Gregory Sr., all former Wilmington City Council Members, City Council staff(current and former), plus all Family and Friends.Thank you.

Posted by WITN22Wilm on Tuesday, October 30, 2018


Marchelle Basnight

Council Chief of Staff



You are now exiting the Wilmington City Council website

The content featured and shared on this website may contain perspectives that do not necessarily reflect the views, opinions and/or endorsements of City Council as a whole, or the City of Wilmington. City Council and the City of Wilmington are not responsible for the content of external sites.

Click Here to Continue