Wilmington, Delaware April 4, 2019

#4637

Sponsor:

Council Member Turner WHEREAS, § 3-802 of the Wilmington Home Rule Charter provides that the Wilmington Parking Authority shall continue to be governed by the provisions of Title 22, Delaware Code, Chapter 5, until otherwise changed by law; and

WHEREAS, 22 Del. C. § 507 (also appearing as § 2-202 of the Related Laws part of the Wilmington City Code) provides <u>inter alia</u> that the Mayor shall appoint, for staggered terms of five (5) years each, the five (5) members of the Wilmington Parking Authority, subject to confirmation by the City Council; and

WHEREAS, Mayor Michael S. Purzycki wishes to (i) reappoint Jereline H. Coleman (whose term expired June 30, 2018), (ii) appoint Buck Simpers (to complete Patrick Carter's term which is set to expire on June 30, 2021), and (iii) appoint Jeffrey Flynn (to complete Leonard Sophrin's term, which is set to expire on June 30, 2019, and to thereafter commence a new five-year term beginning on July 1, 2019) to the Board of Directors of the Wilmington Parking Authority to serve as members of the said Board for terms to expire on June 30, 2023, June 30, 2021, and June 30, 2024 respectively; and

WHEREAS, the Wilmington City Council approves of said appointments and wishes to confirm the same.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF WILMINGTON that the Wilmington City Council hereby approves and confirms the reappointment of Jereline H. Coleman and the appointment of Buck Simpers and Jeffrey Flynn by Mayor Michael S. Purzycki to the Board of Directors of the

Wilmington Parking Authority for terms ending June 30, 2023, June 30, 2021, and June 30, 2024, respectively.

Passed by City Council, April 4, 2019

ATTEST: Waribel Sli

SYNOPSIS: This Resolution confirms Mayor Michael S. Purzycki's reappointment of Jereline H. Coleman and his appointment of Buck Simpers and Jeffrey Flynn to the Board of Directors of the Wilmington Parking Authority for terms expiring June 30, 2023, June 30, 2021, and June 30, 2024, respectively.